

#2440, Canadian Western Bank Place 10303 Jasper Avenue Edmonton, AB T5J 3N6 www.airb.alberta.ca

T 780.427.5428 **F** 780.638.4254

NOTICE: 05-2020 DATE: SEPTEMBER 1, 2020

Notice to All Stakeholders

Consumer Representative Appointment

Purpose:

The Automobile Insurance Rate Board (AIRB) is issuing this notice to announce the appointment of a new Consumer Representative.

Background:

The President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance appoints a Consumer Representative to the AIRB. The Consumer Representative is a voting member of the AIRB and must meet the requirements of section 599(2) of the Insurance Act. AIRB Board Members are appointed for terms of up to three years and can be re-appointed for up to two additional terms.

Announcement:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mathew Wesolowski to the role of Consumer Representative. Mr. Wesolowski is a retired lawyer and insurance executive with industry knowledge and has experience dealing with consumers on a variety of insurance issues.

I would also like to extend my gratitude and well wishes to Chris Daniel, who has served on the AIRB since his first appointment in March 2011. Over the past nine and a half years, Mr. Daniel has served Albertans and their interests in the capacity of Public Member and Consumer Representative. His contributions to the AIRB and his tireless efforts to represent the consumer's perspective in all discussions and decisions will be missed.

The AIRB looks forward to continuing to fulfill its mandate with its new Board Members. Biographies for all Board Members are posted on the AIRB website at airb.alberta.ca/about/board_members/. The website will be updated to include the new appointment in the coming weeks.

Please join me in welcoming Mathew Wesolowski to the AIRB and thanking Chris Daniel for his service to the AIRB and all Albertans.

Should you have any questions relating to this Notice, please contact our office at (780) 427-5428 or by email to airb@gov.ab.ca.

{Original Signed}

Laurie Balfour, MBA, CPA, CMA Executive Director