

Notice to All Stakeholders Board Member Appointments

Notice 03-2023 June 12, 2023

Purpose

The Automobile Insurance Rate Board (AIRB) is announcing recent Board Member appointments.

Background

The AIRB recruits Board Members based on specific skills, knowledge, experience, and diversity. The Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint AIRB Board Members for a term of up to three years and re-appoint for up to three terms.

Process

Effective June 1, 2023, J am happy to announce the appointment of two new Public Members:

- Catherine Manten Ms. Manten is a Chartered Professional Accountant with over 20 years experience. Currently she is Chief Administrative Officer of Kaizen Automotive Group. Her extensive knowledge and experience as a board member providing key financial data relating to automotive retail will be an asset to the Board. Ms. Manten currently resides in Airdrie.
- 2 Vincent Vavrek Mr. Vavrek is a Chartered Professional Accountant, and an advising retired partner at Fletcher Mudryk. LLP, after 25 years in partnership at the firm. He also has an Institute of Corporate Directors designation (ICD.D) and extensive experience in accounting, financial planning, and management which will be an asset to the Board. Mr. Vavrek currently resides in Calgary.

In addition, Jay Jeworski and Jamie Hotte have both been re-appointed for three-year terms. Jamie Hotte has been appointed as Chair, succeeding Charlene Butler who has served the AIRB for the past ten years, the last five years as Chair.

I extend sincere thanks to two departing Board Members, Charlene Butler, and Joshua Gogo for their service to Alberta drivers and the AIRB. Both made valuable, lasting contributions to our Board.

The AIRB's Board Members and staff look forward to continuing our mandate with the new and returning Board Members.

Should you have any questions relating to this Notice, please contact our office at (780) 427-5428 or by email: airb@gov.ab.ca.

Laurie Balfour, MBA, CPA, CMA **Executive Director**