About AIRB

Board and Executive

As an independent agency established by the Minister of Finance, the AIRB is responsible for regulating automobile insurance in Alberta and educating drivers navigating the marketplace.

Our Board

The members of the AIRB bring a broad range of expertise and experience to help guide operations. Members were recruited from across the province and selected through a public, open competition.

Go to Infographics and Reports to see the Board Meeting schedule.

Jamie Hotte

Board Chair

Patricia Matthews

Board Vice-Chair

Mathew Wesolowski

Consumer Representative

Jay Jeworski

Board Member

Christopher Bruce

Board Member

Rita Lazar-Tippe

Board Member

Mark Brisson

Superintendent of Insurance (Non Voting Member)

Vincent Vavrek

Board Member

Catherine Manten

Board Member


Laurie Balfour

Executive Director



2016-21 AIRB Compensation Disclosure

As a public sector body, the AIRB is required to publicly post the names of all Board Members and compensation paid to them. The postings are required by June 30th each year and will be maintained for five years.